Order No Rainbows

Life as an expat, Photography, Crafts, Vegan Food, Music, Art, Animals…..

Veganz – the vegan supermarket in Vienna

on September 20, 2014

IMG_3887

IMG_3886

I had heard about the Veganz supermarket chain which is rapidly spreading across Germany but didn’t realise that that had opened a branch in Vienna until last week. Once I knew it was there I couldn’t wait to check it out. There are 4 health food stores in the town where I live, but the supply of products is erratic, to say the least – there are times when I have to go to all 4 stores to find products such as seitan or tempeh – and the selection of products, especially vegan cheese, is very limited. So off I went on the train to Vienna…

IMG_3888

And I wasn’t disappointed. Located in central Vienna, close to the Naschmarkt, the store has everything a vegan could want. Meat substitutes, vegan cheese, vegan chocolate… – all in multiple varieties. And they had a very well stocked freezer section full of products from Frys, Gardein etc. And lots and lots of vegan ice-cream. As well as staples like nutritional yeast, and non-essentials which are nice to have in the store cupboard, like instant potato puree, for the days when it’s just too much hassle to cook. I thought I’d died and gone to heaven!

There are also other items, like cosmetics, t-shirts and cookery books, but to be honest, I thought they were a bit pricey. So I loaded up my basket with edible items only. And here’s what I bought – for just under 65 Euros:
IMG_4077

IMG_4078

I’ve really enjoyed trying these items, some of which I’ve only read about on the internet. The Daiya cheese is very expensive, but their Provolone slices are very good, and go very well on pizza with the Tofurky pepperoni. The ice-cream mix made an amazing chocolate ice-cream when mixed with soya milk and soya cream. The Violife cheddar slices were almost like real cheddar, and the chickenburger was great. But the prize for best product has to go to the Vego whole hazelnut bar. It was delicious and I was sorry I only bought one.

Veganz Wien is located at Margaretenstraße 44, a few minutes walk from both Taubstummengasse and Kettenbruckengasse U-bahn stations. I think I’m going to be a regular visitor!

Leave a Reply

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Alex's Planet in pictures

Tips, Trips + Tricks

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Adventures Abroad

tales from a life abroad.

A life in transit

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.” — Albert Einstein

Peveril Blog

Manchester, Vegan.

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Salt of Portugal

all that is glorious about Portugal

vegan_twiceasnice

A day in the life of two Van City Vegan sisters #HAPPY #VEGAN #TWINS

The Vegan Treasure Hunter

Follow Me On the Hunt for the Best Vegan Food and Products Around!

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Black Veil One

My Diary Travel, Photography, My Sight About Somethings

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for planning the perfect trip

