Order No Rainbows

Life as an expat, Photography, Crafts, Vegan Food, Music, Art, Animals…..

Christmas markets in Vienna

on December 16, 2013

I’d been hearing great things about the Christmas markets in Vienna, and it’s only a couple of hours from Piešt’any by train so on Saturday I decided to go and investigate. I visited markets in four locations in central Vienna.

First up was the arts and crafts market at Karlsplatz, very close to the U-Bahn station. There were lots of pretty things on sale and plenty of stalls offering a variety of Christmas food and drink. I tried the Amaretto punch, which had quite a kick to it, and it warmed me up nicely. The market was the least crowded of those I visited, and there was plenty of room to walk around and look at the stalls. Someone had done some yarnbombing in the area too, which was interesting.

IMG_4869

IMG_4870

IMG_4877

IMG_4883

IMG_4884

Next stop was the Christmas market at the City Hall. This is probably the best known of the markets and was attracting a huge number of visitors, many of whom had come by bus from Slovakia and the Czech Republic, judging by the language I heard – very few people seemed to be speaking German. The stalls had a great variety of things for sale, and it was all very colourful – but very expensive! I don’t know many people who can afford to buy Christmas tree decorations costing over 16 Euros each! Luckily taking photographs is still free.

IMG_4899

IMG_4897

IMG_4907

IMG_4904

IMG_4900

IMG_4891

Another trip on the U-Bahn took me to Schonbrunn Palace where again there was a great variety of products on offer. The majority were handmade, and not all were expensive. I particularly liked the stall offering Christmas tree decorations of little girls wearing knitted sweaters. The crowds were large here, but because the market is held in the palace courtyard there was still enough room to walk around comfortably. I think this was probably my favourite of the markets I visited.

IMG_4913IMG_4917IMG_4914

IMG_4925

IMG_4928

IMG_4918

IMG_4926

And finally back to Stephansplatz in the city centre, where a market had been set up for the first time. This was the least impressive for me, with comparatively few stalls, and again, everything was expensive. Or maybe I was just getting tired by that point.

IMG_4930

IMG_4931

IMG_4932

I wandered back towards the U-Bahn station past what looked like a small urban forest but which was really a large number of Christmas trees for sale in the pedestrian area. The scent was heavenly – they should keep some trees here all year just for the smell!

IMG_4937

IMG_4940

All in all, a trip to the Christmas markets in Vienna was a good day out, but I wouldn’t want to rely on it to do my Christmas shopping – unless I win the lottery!

2 responses to “Christmas markets in Vienna

  1. VisitSiena says:

    how nice 🙂 will visit Berlin this week:)

    Like

  2. itsjoelwood says:

    Very festive! I’ve just wrote a blog on the Christmas Season, have a look and see if you agree! Thanks.

    http://itsjoelwood.wordpress.com/blog/

    Like

Leave a Reply

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Alex's Planet in pictures

Tips, Trips + Tricks

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Adventures Abroad

tales from a life abroad

A life in transit

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.” — Albert Einstein

Peveril Blog

Manchester, Vegan.

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Salt of Portugal

all that is glorious about Portugal

vegan_twiceasnice

A day in the life of two Van City Vegan sisters #HAPPY #VEGAN #TWINS

The Vegan Treasure Hunter

Follow Me On the Hunt for the Best Vegan Food and Products Around!

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

The Black Veil One

My Diary Travel, Photography, My Sight About Somethings

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for planning the perfect trip

