Order No Rainbows

Life as an expat, Photography, Crafts, Vegan Food, Music, Art, Animals…..

Piestany

on September 30, 2013

So why did I decide to move to Slovakia from the Czech Republic? A lot of people have asked me this, on the basis that the two countries used to be united and therefore are the same, right? Well no actually. So far I have found Slovaks to be very different from the Czechs I met in Blansko – warmer, friendlier, more helpful and much more tolerant of foreigners. Of course Piestany is a spa town and attracts tourists, so therefore the locals have more experience of people from other countries than the people in Blansko, which was not, in any sense, a tourist destination.

I was offered a job here in May, and came down for a look at the school, and at the town – one of the major lessons I learned from the last year was to look before you leap and to get an idea of what I’m letting myself in for before making a commitment! I really liked the school, which is a lot bigger than the one I was previously teaching in and has better facilities. It’s also a language school, rather than just an English school, so there’s more going on. So then I had a look around the town and was very impressed. Piestany is very pretty. It’s set on the river Vah, there are lots of parks and green areas, lots of interesting old buildings (not always in good condition though) and there is a lot going on. The town has a lot of cultural events, there are several outdoor stages, a concert hall, several art galleries and a cinema that shows a mixture of old and new films, often in English. And there are shops. Shops that open at normal hours. They don’t all close at 11am on Saturdays (although some do) and re-open on Mondays. Some of them are even open past 5pm! And there are a lot of restaurants and cafes, which gives the town a lively atmosphere. So I decided I might be happy here.

Teaching in Blansko finished at the end of July, and I packed up all my stuff which went into storage here in Piestany until my new flat was ready on 1 September. Then I went back to Ireland for 3 weeks for a holiday and to see my family. I arrived in Piestany on 26 August, via Prague, and am now settled in my flat. The flat is right in the centre of town, and just around the corner from the school, which will be very handy during the winter. I’ve never lived downtown before, but so far it’s pretty quiet and the only disturbance of the general peace and tranquility is caused by the church bells, which never seem to stop! Sunday seems to be one long bell-ringing festival. I suppose I’ll get used to it in time.

Here are some of the photos I took during my first visit.

IMG_9506

IMG_9376

IMG_9375

IMG_9417

IMG_9650

IMG_9649

IMG_9413

IMG_9508

IMG_9509

IMG_9504

IMG_9516

IMG_9611

One response to “Piestany

  1. It looks a lot prettier than where you were before. Good luck with your new job and flat. I am sure that you will tune into the Sunday bells eventually. I live in the shadow of a bell ringing church and barely notice them now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Alex's Planet in pictures

Tips, Trips + Tricks

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Adventures Abroad

tales from a life abroad

A life in transit

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.” — Albert Einstein

Peveril Blog

Manchester, Vegan.

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Salt of Portugal

all that is glorious about Portugal

vegan_twiceasnice

A day in the life of two Van City Vegan sisters #HAPPY #VEGAN #TWINS

The Vegan Treasure Hunter

Follow Me On the Hunt for the Best Vegan Food and Products Around!

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humour and courgettes

The Black Veil One

My Diary Travel, Photography, My Sight About Somethings

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for fellow travellers

