Order No Rainbows

Life as an expat, Photography, Crafts, Vegan Food, Music, Art, Animals…..

Prague

on June 23, 2013

I went to Prague for the weekend. I’ve wanted to go there for a while but plans kept being derailed – bronchitis, snow, no money, etc… I saw some nice things in Prague but they were completely overshadowed by the beggars I saw who were prostrating themselves in the street, foreheads to the ground and holding out a bowl/cup for donations. I’ve read a few blogs saying how impressive and humble this seemed, and that it made a nice change from beggars that hassle you or try to entertain you. But to me it was horrifying that anyone would think they needed to do that in order to get help, that they felt that they couldn’t even look people in the face. To me, these people seemed utterly lost, and beyond hope. Some people claim that these people are foreign refugees (like that makes it ok?) or that the begging is organised, but I only saw individuals in a state of despair.

Having lived in big cities for most of my life (Dublin, London, Manchester) I thought I’d seen it all, but the beggars in Prague really got to me. Have we really sunk so low as a society that we can only offer someone help if they promise not to look us in the eye?

I also saw people dumpster diving (courtesy of my hotel room overlooking a supermarket loading bay). I’ve seen this before in a few places, and am aware that some people (freegans) do this as a choice but I’ve never seen the people looking like they really, really needed to do it.

Leave a Reply

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Alex's Planet in pictures

Tips, Trips + Tricks

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Adventures Abroad

tales from a life abroad

A life in transit

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.” — Albert Einstein

Peveril Blog

Manchester, Vegan.

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Salt of Portugal

all that is glorious about Portugal

vegan_twiceasnice

A day in the life of two Van City Vegan sisters #HAPPY #VEGAN #TWINS

The Vegan Treasure Hunter

Follow Me On the Hunt for the Best Vegan Food and Products Around!

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Black Veil Ones

My Diary Travel, Photography, My Sight About Somethings

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for fellow travellers

Heyitsleaa

Vegan Health, fitness and lifestyle content

