Order No Rainbows

Life as an expat, Photography, Crafts, Vegan Food, Music, Art, Animals…..

Update – ramblings

on September 12, 2012

1. Today I cooked my first meal in my new flat – pasta with tomato sauce with rocket and butter beans. This made me very happy. There’s nothing more frustrating than looking at an unconnected cooker and dreaming of all the nice things you could cook if the cooker was connected

2. Could whoever ordered the relentless extra-wet rain please turn it off now? I would like the nice sunny weather restored asap!

3. Radio in the Czech Republic – at least the stations you can pick up on a non-digital radio is awful. No decent classical, jazz or indie stations, just never-ending replays of shitty songs from the 1980s interspersed with the awfulness that is Lady Gaga and Nickleback. Fucking Nickleback. Of all of the things to make people listen to this is just cruel. I admit however that the other night they played Samantha Fox’s “hit” – you know the one “touch me, touch me, I want to feel your body…” I nearly fell out of bed laughing – then I realised it wasn’t a joke. My stuff is being shipped from England and will arrive on 1 October – in the meantime I’m trapped in this musical hell. I never thought I’d miss my tv this much. A song is currently playing which involves the words “North Korea, North Korea, sexy lady, woof woof woof woof superstar”. I kid you not.

4. The local post office has a number of stickers on the door asking people not to bring things in – including guns. Yes, they have a sticker with a gun on it and a big red X through it. I was going to take a picture of this but I was afraid someone might shoot me.

5. The internet connections in this country are seriously weird. They keep cutting out and then reconnection for no apparent reason. The connectivity is better in some parts of the appartment than others, but there’s a limit to how much time I can spend sitting on the edge of the couch with my head wedged between the radiator and the windowsill, hence the irregularity of my updates. I may need to buy some sort of gadget to resolve this – if anyone has any ideas please let me know.

6. I have finally given in and declared chemical warfare on the mosq1uitoes which, as usual when I travel, have declared me to be some kind of all you can eat buffet. A plug-in device with mosquito repellent has now been installed. I wouldn’t normally approve of killing insects but I can’t keep going around with big red itchy lumps on my arms, scratching myself in public and not getting any sleep. Either they go or I do – and I’m not going anywhere.

Leave a Reply

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Alex's Planet in pictures

Tips, Trips + Tricks

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Adventures Abroad

tales from a life abroad.

A life in transit

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.” — Albert Einstein

Peveril Blog

Manchester, Vegan.

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Salt of Portugal

all that is glorious about Portugal

vegan_twiceasnice

A day in the life of two Van City Vegan sisters #HAPPY #VEGAN #TWINS

The Vegan Treasure Hunter

Follow Me On the Hunt for the Best Vegan Food and Products Around!

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Little Fears

Tales of whimsy, humor and courgettes

The Black Veil One

My Diary Travel, Photography, My Sight About Somethings

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for planning the perfect trip

