Order No Rainbows

Life as an expat, Photography, Crafts, Vegan Food, Music, Art, Animals…..

I’m back – and recent reading

on November 26, 2011

After a catastrophic computer malfunction (something to do with the motherboard apparently), purchase of a new computer, a week waiting while a computer engineer retrieved my data (thank you Computer Repairs Bolton) and a week spent sorting through my photos and making sure I had them all filed properly (and yes, everything is now backed up) I am now officially back in business.

So here’s a list of what I’ve read and enjoyed recently – I haven’t scanned the covers like I usually do because the computer and scanner aren’t communicating at the moment:

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami – a megawork from the master. It took ages to read and I’m really glad he wrote the third book which made some sense of it all but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

Adobe Lightroom Classroom in a book – “enjoyed” is probably not the right word for the experience of reading this but I learned a lot about using Lightroom so that’s all good.

Mirror to Damascus by Colin Thubron – ideal for anyone curious about Syria and its people

Drawing Crime Noir for comics and graphic novels by Christopher Hart – my drawing still stinks but at least I’m getting pointers in the right direction

Making Jewellery with Gemstone Beads by Barbara Case – just in time for making Christmas presents

Tokyo Vice by Jake Adelstein – written by a former crime reporter for a Japanese newspaper, this was much more interesting than I expected and very informative

Player One by Douglas Adams – not his best work but readable nonetheless

Tuareg by Alberto Vazquez-Figueroa – probably the most gripping book I’ve read in ages

A Soup for Every Day by the New Covent Garden Soup Company – another cookbook for the shelf in the kitchen but I will definitely cook some of the recipes which mostly look delicious (I’m not sold on the idea of a sweet soup)

Explosive Eighteen by Janet Evanovich – reliably entertaining – the latest Stephanie Plum novel. I love the way she keeps having these adventures but never gets older and very little in her life changes – especially her indecision between sexy cop Joe Morelli and the enigmatic Ranger.

So thats it for now – please continue to tune in for further exciting installments including photos from my recent days out with Bolton Digital Photographic Society.

Leave a Reply

Evelina

by Evelina Di Lauro

Alex's Planet in pictures

Tips, Trips + Tricks

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Adventures Abroad

tales from a life abroad

A life in transit

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.” — Albert Einstein

Peveril Blog

Manchester, Vegan.

Wish to Dish

Celebrating food and all the joy that comes from creating and eating it.

Salt of Portugal

all that is glorious about Portugal

vegan_twiceasnice

A day in the life of two Van City Vegan sisters #HAPPY #VEGAN #TWINS

The Vegan Treasure Hunter

Follow Me On the Hunt for the Best Vegan Food and Products Around!

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

Italian Home Kitchen Blog

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Little Fears

Flash fiction tales of humor, horror and whimsy

The Black Veil One

My Diary Travel, Photography, My Sight About Somethings

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for fellow travellers

